Consumer Blues

As I sit and watch the public rummage through my life, the pressure of an international move looming just nine days away, I find myself seeing everything for sale for a buck. Clothes that my wife needed a year ago sell for next to nothing, that HP pocket PC (retailed at $300 in 2005) just sold for $15, amazing how even unopened wedding and baby gifts we didn’t like dint even capture 10% off their retail value.

All this makes me think that as we start our new lives, acquiring more “stuff,” remember the conser blues I feel today letting nostalgia be replace by good ol’ fashion American consumerism. There are very few things we truly “need” and may we remember that even now as my wife heads out to do more shopping.

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary and Critiques

Leave a Reply

